ATV Accident Statistics and Causes (Part B)
Laws Designed to Prevent West Virginia ATV Accidents
In response, the state of West Virginia has adopted several laws in an attempt to reduce ATV accidents. First, all ATV owners must have titles to their vehicles, just like they would for their automobiles. In addition, ATVs cannot be ridden between sunset and sunrise without a lighted headlight and taillight.
Since about 30 to 40% of all ATV injuries and fatalities are sustained by people under the age of 16, West Virginia has also passed ATV laws designed to protect children and teenagers. No one under the age of 18 is permitted to ride an ATV without a helmet or before they have completed a certified rider safety course.
In addition, ATVs are only allowed to travel on most types of paved roads for a maximum of 10 miles. Even then, they must be heading from one ATV-permissible area to another and cannot travel faster than 25 miles per hour. Also, passengers are only permitted on ATVs if the vehicles are constructed to accommodate them, or if the licensed driver and passenger are both at least 18 years old.
Liability in ATV Accidents
The owners of all-terrain vehicles should do everything in their power to prevent ATV accidents. If another person is riding the ATV during a mishap, the owner may share some liability for the accident. In some cases, the property owner where the ATVs are operated can also be partially responsible for an accident.
Contacting a West Virginia ATV Accident Lawyer
If you or someone you love has been injured in an ATV accident, you should contact a qualified West Virginia ATV accident lawyer who may be able to seek restitution or compensation for medical expenses and lost wages from work.
Recreation opportunities abound in West Virginia, but ATV riding can lead to potentially serious or fatal accidents. If you have been harmed because of somebody else's negligence, don't hesitate to seek justice. A West Virginia ATV accident lawyer from The Miley Legal Group will work with you to fight for the compensation you deserve and help you to move on with your life. Contact us today for a free consultation - 304-326-1800.