Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: 888.436.0859
Phone: 304.931.4088
The Miley Legal Group

Get Help Now

  • The Miley Legal Group
  • 229 West Main Street
    Clarksburg, WV 26301
  • Phone: 304.931.4088
  • Fax: (304) 326-1801
  • Toll Free: 888.436.0859
  • Directions

How much time do I have to file a medical malpractice claim in West Virginia?

In the state of West Virginia you have 2 years to file a medical malpractice claim, which is known as the statute of limitations. The 2-year timeframe is calculated from the date of your injury or from the date the injury was discovered.

Therefore, if an individual was injured due to medical negligence on October 1, 2010 they would have until October, 1 2012 to file a medical malpractice claim in West Virginia.

For minors, the statute of limitations in West Virginia is 2 years from the date of the injury for a minor under the age of 10 or prior to the minor's 12th birthday, whichever is longer.   

Since the statute of limitations varies in each state and may be modified every once in a while, a knowledgeable Clarksburg medical malpractice attorney can update you on the latest stipulations in West Virginia's medical malpractice laws.

No one should have to deal with more injuries and pain because a healthcare provider acted in a wrongful or negligent manner. If you have been injured because of medical negligence in West Virginia, contact a medical malpractice attorney in Clarksburg at The Miley Legal Group. We will work with you to fight for the compensation you deserve and help you to move on with your life. Contact us today for a FREE consultation - 304-326-1800.

Live Chat