Recreational ATV use can be a lot of fun - unless someone gets hurt. That's why West Virginia state law requires that all ATV riders under 18 years of age complete a rider safety awareness course. However, all new ATV riders are encouraged to enroll in an ATV safety course as well.
How to Enroll in an ATV Safety Course
These courses are presented by the ATV Safety Institute, and it is very easy to enroll in a safety course. All you have to do is go to the official ATV safety website, click on the "State Data" tab, and then select West Virginia from the U.S. map. On the West Virginia page, click on the link in the sentence which reads, "Click here to learn how to enroll in an ATV safety training course near you!"
The link will take you to the ATV RiderCourse enrollment page. Select whether or not you own an ATV and click on "Start." The enrollment process will take you through the following 5 steps:
- Buyer Entry
- Age Range
- Class Select
- Student Entry
Costs and Requirements for ATV Safety Courses
Each course costs about $150 for adults and $55 for kids who are 15 years old or younger. When you attend the ATV safety course, you must bring with you all the items listed below:
- your ATV and its owner's manual
- a DOT-compliant helmet
- goggles or a face shield
- pants and long sleeved shirt
- over-the-ankle boots
Completing an ATV rider safety course can help you avoid getting into an ATV accident.
For more information on ATV safety, read our article on Rules and Regulations for West Virginia ATV Use.
Recreation opportunities abound in West Virginia, but with ATV riding can lead to potentially serious or fatal accidents. If you have been harmed because of somebody else's negligence, don't hesitate to seek justice. The Miley Legal Group will work with you to fight for the compensation you deserve and help you to move on with your life. Contact us today for a FREE consultation - (304) 326-1800.